Eye of the World – Robert Jordan

I was really nervous about reading this; I’ve heard a lot about the Wheel of Time series, and a lot of it wasn’t all that good. When I mentioned to a friend I was thinking about reading the series, he told me to skip several of the middle books because nothing happened in them other than reactions to things from the previous book… which is not the most encouraging thing to hear. Also the series is LONG. But the boyfriend had the first book just sitting about on his shelf, so I figure why not? If nothing else, I get to join in with the mutual commiseration that seems to be the general way of appreciating them. This is not the best way to go into a book reading.

As it happens, this all appears to have been unfounded. I don’t doubt that friend is right and the middle books get less thrilling, but the first book is actually pretty fun. I raced through it in about three proper sittings, and almost immediately bought the sequel – what greater praise can there be?

Ok, that said, I should get straight to the thing that troubled me most: it felt quite LOTR. Not the story, exactly, but a lot of the elements seemed to be quite close to LOTR-y things. Like the crownless king business. And the Eye of the World itself (ok, not evil, but big eye thing). And the names. And the place names. And just… everything. It’s not like Eragon where they basically wholesale nicked the setting (and the plot of Star Wars), or a carbon copy of the plot, but it seems to draw on Tolkien a great deal more than the rest of the fantasy genre (and yes, I know, everyone does that, but not this much). It’s also… pretty tropey. Farmboys chosen by destiny… yeah. No one is winning prizes for original thinking with this one.

All of that aside, I really did enjoy it. When I stopped sighing and going “no, really? What a surprise…” at everything, it was a good, fun book. It just took a little more suspension of disbelief than I am accustomed to. The writing is hardly stellar, but nor is it trash, and the characters aren’t… the most realistic, but all in all, it’s not the worst book I’ve read. It’s fun and escapist, and very big on the drama and melodrama and the high stakes, fate-of-the-world sort of thing, which is a wonderful way to stop worrying about getting a job and to pass the time. I doubt I could take reading the whole series end to end in one go, because it is so easy to overdose on that kind of melodrama, but a book or two at a time? Perfect.

I can’t say as I can quite see how this became a classic, though. If someone felt like explaining, I would greatly welcome the clarification, because it really isn’t obvious to me. Or maybe it’s not a classic and I just have a really warped sense of its importance because of the people I talk to. I have no idea. But it just… to me, it feels like yet another fantasy novel being a fantasy novel like fantasy novels stereotypically are. There’s nothing really distinctive about it at all, and that bothers me. Not that everything has to be quirky and different to be good, but there has to be something about a book to make you want to recommend it above another… otherwise what’s the point? Take The Name of the Wind, for instance. It too is a ridiculously tropey bit of fantasy, but for the most part, it is pretty well written. Or the Stormlight Archive, which has excellent characters. Or ASoIaF, which will kill every character you ever want to love. There has to be something which sets a book apart for it to feel worth reading and worth liking. And The Eye of the World didn’t really have that for me. It’s not terrible, and it was quite fun, but there’s nothing about it which I can pick out and say “this, he did this well, if you like this, you should read the book”… so the only reason to read it as far as I can see is the reason I read it: because everyone else has and you can thus join in on the mutual commiseration and in-jokes.

About readerofelse

A student of a redundant, useless and thoroughly interesting subject and reader of many books, particularly fantasy, science fiction and plenty else besides.
This entry was posted in All, Fantasy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eye of the World – Robert Jordan

  1. I’m in the same position as you were before reading this – have heard a lot about the series, much of it not particularly good, suspect if I didn’t have anything else to read and there was a copy of this around I’d try it out.

    I wonder if it became a classic due to becoming super-popular at a time when fantasy was less mainstream than it is now? This is speculation, because I don’t know what was big and what wasn’t in 1991 (Amazon says publication date Dec 1991). But I think that fantasy/sci-fi stuff has become much more mainstream and has proliferated hugely since then (in the last few years particularly), so probably it seems a lot less remarkable now than it might have done when first published.

  2. readerofelse says:

    That certainly seems a reasonable view, but since I’ve read the second one (and my opinion of the series has gone waaaaay down) I can’t see how people could have liked this much even if there wasn’t much fantasy on offer. It’s just Not Good.

  3. Rabindranauth says:

    I’m a big fan of the series, but I love butchering it as much as anyone else. Books 1-6 are the best in the series. Jordan works his magic, and there are parts where the sheer EPIC scope makes you really enjoy the story; it’s literally epic fantasy at it’s finest. Books 7-9 could use major editing, but depending on how much you enjoy the series, you can get through them without too much pain. The struggle REALLY started in 9 for me. And then there’s book 10. 700 pages, and very literally 3 MINOR events of import, 2 based on subplots that were extended past their shelf life, and the 3rd is really just more worldbuilding, but it does prove a significant part. Book 11, the series finally redeems itself. It’s still not back to 100%, but Robert Jordan finally gets back on track. And then he died, and Brandon Sanderson started writing from the 12th. The 12th was okay, takes a little adjusting because there’s a very different feel to the story. Book 13, a lot happens, and at the same time, not a lot happens. And then, there’s the finale, book 14. A LITERAL 800 page battle. That book made ALL the struggle from book 7 onwards worth every single page.

  4. readerofelse says:

    I struggle with the idea that Eye of the World is epic fantasy at its finest. Epic fantasy isn’t my favourite bit of the genre, but I’m fairly sure I’ve read better examples than this. I’m not saying it’s complete rubbish, because it isn’t, but I think that holding it up as a measure of true excellence is going a bit far (and overlooking some other works that surpass it in many ways). Most of what you’ve said about how the series progresses tallies with what other people have told me (though I have been told just not to read book 10), and it still surprises me how people who really love the series can in the same breath point out all the less than excellent bits… in a really long paragraph suggesting there are lots of less than excellent bits. Possibly I am missing something in the first couple of books that would change my mind and make me absolutely adore them, but honestly, I just don’t see the attraction, or at least, not the esteem in which so many people seem to hold the books.

Leave a Reply

