A WARNING – The Builder (The Young Ancients) – P. S. Power

I haven’t finished this book. I normally wouldn’t post anything about a book I haven’t fully read, but a warning needs to be made. The unsuspecting must be informed: do not read this book. It may be free, but it isn’t worth it.

I admit, that all sounds harsh, but I promise that it is also true. I’m sure that in the 30% I read I could see a good story. But the writing style was so hideous, so utterly repugnant and horrendous, that I couldn’t bear to go on. The main character is clearly meant to be somewhere on the autism spectrum, and the writing style feels like a terrible attempt by someone who is not on that spectrum to write as if he or she were. It is painful. And since the flow is very much stream-of-consciousness, the effect is vastly magnified to the point of repulsion. Add to this the fact that none of the characters are well-written (so far as I’ve read), the whole idea of some issues is baffling and the attempted explanations more so, and I see no good reason why you should want to expend the effort of downloading this book. It is not worth that few moments of your life.

I say again, do not read this. It is not worth it.

About readerofelse

A student of a redundant, useless and thoroughly interesting subject and reader of many books, particularly fantasy, science fiction and plenty else besides.
This entry was posted in All, Blacklist, Else, Fantasy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A WARNING – The Builder (The Young Ancients) – P. S. Power

  1. A Reader says:

    I agree that the first book was annoying. But due to that glimmer of hope I pushed through. The reason for the ‘austic main’ is actually explained further along the line of the series. The writing style also picks up as you go along, either that or you become so engaged in the story it doesn’t worry you anymore. The series is getting better as it goes, worth a read.

  2. I read the next book because, even though this one is so full of language errors, I thought the premise was fresh and had promise. I was hugely disappointed with the second one, which appeared to be a first unedited draft by someone who’s completely dyslexic.

    There are plenty of reviewers on Amazon saying that the story gets worse as it goes and just becomes juvenile sex-and-power fantasies. I suppose it depends on your taste, because somehow or other the author is in the top 50 in Kindle fantasy fiction.

  3. Bob says:

    Not a big fan of his works either. There are a lot of writing errors, and he tends to ruin a series when he gets bored with it by power tripping like a mad man. However, at least he finishes his book series. And he does write about a book a month. Not something you’ve forgotten five years ago, once a month. I’ve been warned that winter is coming for over 17 years.

  4. Glenn West says:

    actually im at book 16, one of the better series. I think ps power is super creative.
    First book is from a backwoods child. PS Powers focuses on looking at alternative social systems, and interesting settings.

Leave a Reply

